[C] Interactive Marketing Glossary

1-A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S U V T W X Z Y

[C] Interactive Marketing Glossary

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CABLE MODEM – a device that permits high speed connectivity to the Internet over a cable television system.

CACHE – memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM – Random-Access Memory), and disk (hard drive – HD) cache.

CACHE BUSTING – the process by which sites or servers serve content or HTML in such a manner as to minimize or prevent browsers or proxies from serving content from their cache. This forces the user or proxy to fetch a fresh copy for each request. Among other reasons, cache busting is used to provide a more accurate count of the number of requests from users.

CACHED AD IMPRESSIONS – the delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or a proxy server‘s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.

CACHING – the process of copying a Web element (page or ad) for later reuse. On the Web, this copying is normally done in two places: in the user’s browser and on proxy servers. When a user makes a request for a Web element, the browser looks into its own cache for the element; then a proxy, if any; followed by the intended server. Caching is done to reduce redundant network traffic, resulting in increased overall efficiency of the Internet.

CALL DETAIL RECORDS (CDR) – The record made within the cellular network of all details of both incoming and outgoing calls made by mobile subscribers. This record is then passed to the billing system for action.

CALL TO ACTION (CTA) – A statement or instruction, typically promoted in print, web, TV, radio, on-portal, or other forms of media (often embedded in advertising), that explains to a mobile subscriber or potential customer how to respond to an opt-in for a particular promotion or mobile initiative, which is typically followed by a Notice.


CALLTONE (Ringtone) – See Ringtone

CAPACITY – The measure of a (mobile) network’s ability to support simultaneous calls, messages, etc.

CARRIER  (Mobile carrier, Mobile Network Operator, Mobile Carrier, Network Operator, Operator Company, Wireless Carrier ) – Shorthand for wireless carrier, carriers provide the network infrastructure for the delivery of messages between end users and connection aggregators or application providers. A company that provides wireless telecommunications services

CASCADING STYLE SHEET (CSS) – An external document containing code that defines a Website’s (Internet and Mobile Web) appearance.

CGI script (Common Gateway Interface) – CGI‘s are used to allow a user to pass data to a Web server, most commonly in a Web-based form. Specifically, CGI scripts are used with forms such as pull-down menus or text-entry areas with an accompanying submit button. The input from the form is processed by a program (the CGI script itself) on a remote Web server.

CHANNEL – 1) a band of similar content; 2) a type of sales outlet (also known as channel of distribution), for example retail, catalogue, or e-commerce.

CHAT – A program that enables asynchronous interactions between two or more subscribers.  Online ou mobile interactive communication between two or more people on the Web ou celular. One can .talk. in real time with other people in a chat room, typically by typing, though voice chat is available.

CHAT BOTS – A computer-generated response sent to chat participants. These responses are sent without human interaction.

CHAT ROOM – an area online where people can communicate with others in real-time.

CLEAR AND CONSPICUOUS NOTICE – The vehicle by which descriptions, instructions, terms and conditions, and other relevant details pertinent to a specific marketing initiative, are prominently posted.

CLICK – The act of when a mobile subscriber or web user interacts with (highlights and clicks on) an advertisement (banner, text link) or other actionable link, that has been served to their screen. 1) metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet or mobile ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks; and mouseovers; 2) the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links to the advertiser‘s intended Web site or another page or frame within the Web site; 4) metric which measures the reaction of a user to linked editorial content. See iab.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines.

CLICK FRAUD – Click fraud is a type of internet crime that occurs in pay per click online advertising when a person, automated script, or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge per click without having actual interest in the target of the ad’s link.

CLICK RATE – ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

CLICK TO CALL – A service that enables a mobile subscriber to initiate a voice call to a specified phone number by clicking on a link on a mobile web site, SMS or MMS. Typically used to enhance and provide a direct response mechanism in an advertisement.

CLICK-STREAM – 1) the electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within a site; 2) a comprehensive body of data describing the sequence of activity between a user‘s browser and any other Internet resource, such as a Web site or third party ad server.

CLICK-THROUGH – The process that takes a mobile subscriber to a jump or landing page once the mobile subscriber has clicked on a link. The action of following a link within an advertisement or editorial content to another Web site or another page or frame within the Web site. Ad click-throughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity.

CLICK-THROUGH RATE ( CTR) – A way of measuring the success of an online or mobile advertising campaign. A CTR is obtained by dividing the number of users who clicked on an ad on a Web page by the number of times the ad was delivered (impressions).

CLICK-WITHIN – similar to click down or click. But more commonly, click-withins are ads that allow the user to .drill down. and click, while remaining in the advertisement, not leaving the site on which they are residing.

CLIENT – A computer or software program that contacts a server to obtain data via the Internet or another network. Browsers, Outlook, and e-mail programs are examples of software clients.

CLIENT-INITIATED AD IMPRESSION – one of the two methods used for ad counting. Ad content is delivered to the user via two methods – server-initiated and client-initiated. Client-initiated ad counting relies on the user‘s browser for making requests, formatting and re-directing content. For organizations using a server-initiated ad counting method, counting should occur at the publisher‘s ad server or third-party ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process.

CLOSE– Indicates that the user clicks or otherwise activates a close control which fully dispatches the ad from the player environment. May not apply to non-overlay ads.

CODE DIVISION MULTIPLE ACCESS (CDMA ) – Also called “spread spectrum techniques,” a technique for multiplexing digital transmission of radio signals in which each voice or data call uses the whole radio band, and is assigned a unique code.

CODEC – short for compressor/decompressor. Codecs are computer algorithms that are used to compress the size of audio, video, and image files for streaming over a data network or storage on a computer. Apple‘s QuickTime, Microsoft‘s Windows Media Video, and MP3 are examples of common codecs.

COLOR GRAPHICS – Color Wallpapers, Wallpapers Color Graphics. A color image.


COMBINATION AD – A potentially clickable ad consisting of an image and text.

COMMERCIAL MESSAGES – Text or multimedia messages that are sent to a mobile device ou computer, usually for commercial purposes.

COMMON SHORT CODE ADMINISTRATION (CSCA) – The entity that oversees the registration, assignment and tracking of CSCs. CSCAs are predominantly in Canada, China, the United Kingdom and the United States. Local mobile carriers and short code aggregators are the administrators of CSC registry in other countries

COMMON SHORTCODE (CSC) – Short numeric numbers (typically 4~6 digits) to which text messages can be sent from a mobile phone. Wireless subscribers send text messages to common short codes with relevant keywords to access a wide variety of mobile content.

COMMUNICATION ERROR – the failure of a Web browser/Web server to successfully request/transfer a document.

COMPACT HTML (cHTML ) – A subset of HTML for small devices, such as mobile phones and PDAs. cHTML was created by Japan-based Access Company, Ltd. in 1998 for i-Mode devices.

COMPLETE MMS AD – This advertisement unit assumes that the entire MMS is the advertisement. This MMS advertisement could be the result of a WAP Banner click or a free message sent to subscribers who have opted-in to receive news about the advertiser.

CONFIDENTIALITY – The treatment of information that an individual has disclosed in a relationship of trust, and with the expectation that it will not be divulged without permission to others, in ways that are inconsistent with the understanding of the original disclosure.

CONFIRMED OPT-IN – The process used for verifying a mobile subscriber’s intention, and for gaining the subscriber’s explicit agreement to participate in a mobile program/ initiative.

CONNECTION AGGREGATOR – Connection aggregators provide connectivity between carrier networks and application providers.

CONTENT AGGREGATOR – An organization that contracts with an array of content providers, and redistributes licensed content.

CONTENT INTEGRATION – advertising woven into editorial content or placed in a contextual envelope. Also known as “Web advertorial”.

CONTENT PREVIEW – An advertisement where a sample of mobile content is included. This is very similar to a movie trailer, but, for all digital content including ringtones and wallpapers.

CONTENT PROVIDER (CP) – A company that creates and offers content, e.g. graphic products, ringtones, games, news, information and entertainment services, etc. Content providers are entities that own or have the rights to content. They often license content to application providers for delivery to end users.

CONTEST – A promotional mechanism that includes a prize and a game of skill. Cannot be any element of chance.

CONTEXTUAL ADS – Existing contextual ad engines deliver text and image ads to non-search content pages. Ads are matched to keywords extracted from content.

COOKIE – a small piece of information (i.e., program code) that is stored on a browser for the purpose of identifying that browser during audience activity and between visits or sessions. Information placed on a visitor’s computer or Mobile handset by a Web server that can be stored or retrieved when the site is accessed. Cookies are generally used as unique identifiers (i.e. user IDs or session IDs) to record a users unique behavior during each visit. Cookies may be used to store other data such as email address, usernames etc. Most mobile handsets do not support cookies, although the market long-term is moving in this direction.

COOKIE BUSTER – software that blocks the placement of cookies on a user‘s browser.

COST PER TARGETED THOUSAND IMPRESSIONS (CPTM) – implying that the audience one is trying to reach is defined by particular demographics or other specific characteristics, such as male golfers age 18-25.The difference between CPM and CPTM is that CPM is for gross impressions, while CPTM is for targeted impressions.

COST PER THOUSAND (CPM) – A metric used to price advertising banners. Sites that sell advertising may guarantee an advertiser a certain number of impressions (number of times an ad banner is served and presumably seen by visitors) and then set the cost based on the guarantee, multiplied by the CPM rate.  For example, a Web site that charges €1.000 per ad and reports 200,000 visits has a CPM of €5 (€1,000 divided by 200).

COST-PER-ACTION (CPA) – cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. “Actions” include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

COST-PER-CLICK (CPC) – cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.

COST-PER-CUSTOMER – the cost an advertiser pays to acquire a customer.

COST-PER-LEAD (CPL) – cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

COST-PER-ORDER (CPO) – cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also called Cost-per-Transaction.

COST-PER-SALE (CPS) – the advertiser’s cost to generate one sales transaction.

COST-PER-TRANSACTION (CPT) – see CPO (Cost-per-Order).

COUNT AUDIT – see activity audit.

COUPON – A ticket, message, and/or document that can be exchanged for a financial discount on a product or service.

CRAWLER – a software program which visits Web pages to build indexes for search engines. See also spider, bot, and intelligent agent.

CROSS-CARRIER MOBILE-PHONE VOTING APPLICATION – A software solution that processes the votes cast by mobile subscribers from multiple mobile carriers.

CROWDSOURCING – Taking a task that would conventionally be performed by a contractor or employee and turning it over to a typically large, undefined group of people via an open call for responses.

CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP MANAGEMENT (CRM) – Business practices that foster customer care, loyalty, and/or customer support.


About João Geraldes

Doutorado em Gestão, Estratégia e Posicionamento pela Universidad da Extremadura de Badajoz na área de Organização e Competitividade, Mestre em Gestão no Instituto Superior de Gestão e Licenciado em Organização e Gestão de Empresas no ISCTE. Atualmente é Coordenador da Licenciatura de Gestão do Instituto Piaget, Diretor Emérito do Instituto Superior de Ciências da Administração, Managing Partner da 2B-On | SOCIAL BUSINESS CONSULTING, CEO da TSG, BUSINESS & TECHNOLOGY CONSULTING, Partner da AKA People, Diretor da Pós Graduação de Gestão Hospitalar do Instituto Superior de Gestão. Leciona ainda na Ordem dos Farmacêuticos a Pós-Graduação de Marketing Digital e é docente também no Centro de Estudos Superiores da Indústria Farmacêutica em Marketing Digital, acumulando experiência lectiva desde 1990 (27 anos). É Presidente da Assembleia da OV-Associação Portuguesa de Profissionais de Vendas e Presidente da Direção da Associação de Proprietários de São Marcos desde 1995). É membro efetivo da Ordem dos Economistas com o nº 10723.
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One Response to [C] Interactive Marketing Glossary

  1. Pingback: [P] Interactive Marketing Glossary | Geraldes's Blog

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